Waiting for Godot

Do you all remember that Samuel Beckett classic, you know, the one he originally wrote in French before translating into English? The premise of the story is that the main characters are waiting for someone named Godot… who never shows up.

Now, don’t read too far into the fact that I am comparing my life for the past six months to an absurdist play, but waiting for our K-1 fiancé visa kind of feels like waiting for a very hard to reach and eccentric older gentleman who only answers snail mail and writes three letters a year.

As you may have gathered, Hedi has not arrived yet. Although I did adopt two dogs. Not to say that Hedi can be replaced by two furry animals, but it does help combat the loneliness. And there has been much snowing in New England this winter season. Once November rolled around, it was non-stop action, a flurry of snow and ice, my ten-day trip home to St. Louis, and then five straight weeks of intermittent snow storms, with an occasional snow day, early dismissal, late start, and many times over scraping off the windshield of my as-yet-to-breakdown car (I’m crossing my fingers that it will survive the winter intact).  We had the Polar Vortex for a week, and then the Polar Vortex’s tween cousin a few weeks later, both of which made me regret the idea of adopting two animals who need to go outside at 6:00 a.m. to do their business (they are fabulous the rest of the time).

My traveling has been limited since the latter part of 2013, although I have taken several trips to New York City and one to Vermont at the peak of its glorious fall foliage. I have an upcoming weekend trip to Boston planned for March. Enjoy the medley of photos.

I’ve been giving some thought to this blog – although I myself am not currently an Expat and am unlikely to be one for possibly the next three years (Hedi needs to gain his citizenship), Hedi himself will be viewing America through the eyes of a foreigner.  His reactions, perceptions, and experiences in the new environment will certainly prove fascinating and I’d like to chronicle them in this blog… that is, if we ever hear back from Godot.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

