Let the Job Search Begin!

I often get so wrapped up in my schooling that I forget the whole purpose of my pursuing a Masters in France – to find a job!    It’s so easy to relegate everything else to the background when you are balancing a myriad of classes, activities, homework assignments, and thesis-related research.  My first semester, I made a valiant effort to find a job.  That’s to say, I submitted four different applications to the University libraries (already staffed by the time they looked at my application), filled out some information on babysitting websites, dropped off a couple resumes at the few English-language schools in Amiens, and randomly responded to an online ad for cours particuliers in English.  Only the last one ended up happening, but I was too busy worrying about my grades, my group of friends, and my Sunday night cooking extravaganzas.  Which is all good and well, but only a few trees out of the forest.

Since returning from the United States, I’ve had to think differently about my strategy here in France.  One glance at my bank account is enough to convince me that I am no longer a study abroad student, an Erasmus, an American on exchange.  I am living full-time in France without student aid, access to loans, or social benefits, neither from the United States or France.  Now is the time to begin the job search in earnest.

This past week, I’ve been running to and fro between classes and trying to figure out how to find a job – a part-time job, a summer job, and full-time future job, a job for now, a job for next year…  It’s not the easiest thing to do, let alone in a foreign country.  And so I have begun anew, scanning the online advertisements, making phone calls (how I dread that), dropping off resumes, networking with friends, emailing contacts, showing up for an infinitude of classes in the hopes that now or soon or later something will come my way.  And in the meantime, trying to do my best at doing everything well – school, friends, thesis, CAPES preparations.  Certainly a rather tall order.

P1150442

For all my fellow expats/foreign traveler and workers, if you have any insights or ideas on working abroad, feel free to chip in your two cents!

Categories: Expats, France, Immigration | Tags: , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Let the Job Search Begin!

  1. Are you planning to stay in the area you’re in now when thinking about a full-time future job? Or are you open to moving? It’s no leap of faith to say that there are most likely a lot more jobs for foreigners (especially those with your linguistic capabilities) in Paris (or other large cities) than more rural areas. Also, will you have to get a visa to work full-time in France or do you already have working rights?

    I can say, as a piece of advice that I’ve received, that it could be important to include that you have the legal right to work in France on your cv. As for part time stuff… I’ll keep an eye/ear out for you! Good luck!!

    • Hi Nikki! Thanks for posting.

      When it comes to a full-time job, I’m ok with moving anywhere in France, but the ultimate goal is to move closer to Paris, where my partner will have more options of employment (he’s in computer science/networks and systems) and where his family live. We are both foreigners, so we will both need to get a titre de travail in order to work full-time in France (neither of us have more than 60% working rights currently, we have student visas). In my case, if things go according to plan, I’ll have a French Masters and the “concours national” for teaching in private high schools and middle schools. He should have a Masters in about the same amount of time. The only reason for staying in l’Acadamie d’Amiens would be for me, as I’ll have more personal and work contacts and will need to do my “internship” at a private school close to Amiens, where I’m getting my degree. Normally, I can stay in France to get my visa/carte de séjour “converted” to a work permit without needing to pass through the U.S. (la préfecture takes care of that nonsense… most of the time).

      If you hear of any part-time summer jobs, in France or elsewhere, I’d be very interested! I’ll have lodgings in both Paris and Amiens this summer!

      • Oh excellent! It sounds like you have a much easier road ahead than many foreigners who try to work here, so that’s GREAT news!! I will definitely keep you posted on part-time jobs I see, but in the meantime check out the job posts on the website for the American Club in France, and also a friend works at a company called Baby Speaking, who places nannies for part-time, live out positions which could be great for you! :)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

