Bienvenue à Amiens

It’s taken me a month now to settle in to my new-again French city, Amiens, and a few months of packing and organizing before that.  I’ve switched to a new blog format, so I am still getting used to the changes.  Here are a few photos to give you a flavor of my new life, as I sort through the English words I want to use to describe the struggles, challenges, and delights of moving indefinitely to another country.

Place Gambetta, plage des enfants

Heading towards the Cathedral

La femme sans chemise (“The shirtless woman”)

La Cathédrale Notre-Dame d’Amiens

Saint Leu

Parc Saint Pierre, with a view towards the Hortillonnages

Sunset at the Parc Saint Pierre

Musée de Picardie

Bibliothèque municipale

Cirque Jules Verne

Old building in Amiens where they used to make ‘biscuits’ (cookies), apparently

Statue of LaFleur

Categories: Amiens, France | Tags: | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Bienvenue à Amiens

  1. Love the style of the blog, and Amiens looks like an interesting place. Thanks for following and I think I’ll just have to follow you back to find out more.

    • Thanks, Jo! It’s definitely a treat to get an insider’s perspective from around the world. Traveling and exploring new places is certainly addicting!

  2. Desiree

    Just wanted to drop by and say that you have the best boards on Pinterest! LOL Especially for an American revert to Islam, somewhat of a Francophile, study abroad alumnus, like me! :) Glad to see you have a blog! All the best…Salaam!

    • Assalamu alaykom, Desiree, we seem to have a lot in common! Pinterest is my guilty hobby, especially when I should be doing other things, such as reading or studying Arabic. At least now, as I work on my blog, I can justify it with “time spent finding inspiration for my writing.” All my best, Colleen.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

